Storm Lake Parade of Nations

Join us in congratulating and celebrating the 2022 Local Government Excellence Award recipients. These awards recognize influential contributions to local government management and demonstrate how the profession enhances the quality of life in our cities, towns, and counties.

This year we are pleased to announce that five talented individuals and fourteen inventive programs will receive awards. Take a moment to appreciate and applaud your peers!

Professional Award Recipients

Award for Career Excellence in Memory of Mark E. Keane

Vincent Long, county administrator, Leon County, Florida

Award for Career Development in Memory of L. P. Cookingham

Dr. Mark S. Watson, city manager, Oak Ridge, Tennessee

Assistant Excellence in Leadership Award in Memory of Buford M. Watson Jr.

Lauren Vasquez, assistant city manager, Monrovia, California

Academic Award in Memory of Stephen B. Sweeney

Dr. Robert E. Lee, MPA coordinator and associate professor, Florida Gulf Coast University Department of Political Science and Public Administration

Early Career Leadership Award in Memory of William H. Hansell Jr.

Justin Casanova-Davis, MPA, assistant town administrator and acting finance director, Brookline, Massachusetts


Program Award Recipients

Community Equity and Inclusion Award

Storm Lake Community Outreach, Storm Lake, Iowa (population 10,000-49,999)

Thrive Livingston: Livingston County's Rural Anti-Poverty Plan, Livingston County, New York (population 50,000 and greater) 

Community Health and Safety Award

Southeastern Massachusetts Regional 911 District, Foxborough, Massachusetts (population less than 10,000)

Oakland Park COVID-19 Vaccination Site for Vulnerable Seniors, Oakland Park, Florida (population 10,000-49,999)

Homeless Strategic Plan, Vista, California (population 50,000 and greater)

Community Partnership Award

Lucas Farmers Market, Lucas, Texas (population less than 10,000)

Neighborhood Ambassadors, North Liberty, Iowa (population 10,000-49,999)

Financial Analyst, Public Works – Transportation, Boulder, Colorado (population 50,000 and greater)

Community Sustainability Award

Bondurant Economic Development Launch Program, Bondurant, Iowa (population less than 10,000)

City of Lake Forest’s Rethink Recycling Campaign, Lake Forest, Illinois (population 10,000-49,999)

High Reclaimed Asphalt Pavement Project, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada (population 50,000 and greater)

Strategic Leadership and Governance Award

Strategic Continuous Operational Redesign and Evaluation (SCORE), Bondurant, Iowa (population less than 10,000)

New Development Fiscal Analysis, Fate, Texas (population 10,000-49,999)

Behavioral Health Access Program, Coral Springs, Florida (population 50,000 and greater)

New, Reduced Membership Dues

A new, reduced dues rate is available for CAOs/ACAOs, along with additional discounts for those in smaller communities, has been implemented. Learn more and be sure to join or renew today!