ICMA Student Chapters Connect Students with Local Government Leaders

Student chapter leaders win travel funds to attend the ICMA Annual Conference.

ARTICLE | Aug 16, 2017

The University of Southern California, Ohio State University, and University of North Texas are the winners of ICMA's first annual student chapter best event competition. The winners were selected from 15 participating chapters to receive travel funds for the ICMA Annual Conference. Their submissions, along with the others, highlighted and celebrated the amazing events that these chapters hold every year.

The University of Southern California won first place for its Local Government Case Challenge event, whereby its graduate and undergraduate teams were tasked with developing social media strategies for Signal Hill, California, which is struggling with the role of social media in its civic engagement practices. Beyond the monetary reward and other prizes, participants networked with several city administrators, who acted as judges at the event, and provided research and viable solutions to the city.

Ohio State University’s Shadowing Program, which won second place, offers students the opportunity to experience the many facets of local government firsthand. Participants were paired with Ohio city managers for a set number of days to tour facilities, engage in discussions with department heads, explore in-progress community projects, and attend city council meetings. The initiative reinforced budding interests in local government and facilitated student connections within the community.

The student chapter at the University of North Texas (UNT) won third place with the 55th Annual Alumni-Student Conference. The chapter worked alongside the UNT Public Administration Alumni Board to bring together UNT alumni, students, faculty, and local administrators to celebrate local government, discuss developments in the field and new tactics for improving local governments, and connect through sharing experiences and conducting mock interviews.

Read all of the 2017 submissions below.

Appalachian State University

Augusta University

The College at Brockport, SUNY

Cornell University

Florida Atlantic University

Mills College

Ohio State University

St. Petersburg College

University of Alabama at Birmingham

University of Central Florida

University of Kansas

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

University of North Texas

University of Southern California

Villanova University

Special thanks to ICMA Regional Vice Presidents Carlos Baia, Daryl Delabbio, Jim Malloy, and Carl Harness for judging the contest.

Want to add a comment?

Login to your account or Create a free account to leave a comment and get access to more features.



You may also be interested in