Awards and Honors

Congratulations to these ICMA members who have been honored for their contributions to the local government management profession.

Feb 25, 2020 | ARTICLE

February 25, 2020

Jane Brautigam, ICMA President and city manager, Boulder, Colorado, has been named the 2020 Manager of the Year by the Colorado City and County Managers Association (CCCMA). Brautigam was recognized for her outstanding contribution to local government and exceptional leadership in Boulder, the state, and beyond.

Frank Lancaster, who retired as town administrator, of Estes Park, Colorado, in 2019, received the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award from CCCMA.


February 11, 2020

The city of Germantown, Tennessee (Patrick Lawton, ICMA-CM, city administrator), has been awarded the 2019 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The city is one of only four municipalities nationwide to have ever received the award. A presidential-level honor, the award recognizes exemplary U.S. organizations and businesses that demonstrate an unceasing drive for radical innovation, thoughtful leadership, and administrative improvement. The award was developed in the late 1980s by the Department of Commerce to facilitate competition among U.S. companies. The award is the highest level of recognition for performance excellence that a U.S. organization can receive.


October 29, 2019

Matthew T. Mardesen, city administrator, Nevada, Iowa, has been named Manager of the Year by the Iowa City/County Management Association. The award honors administrators whose accomplishments and superior work performance represent the “best possible application of management principles and whose creative contributions to professional local government management increases public awareness of the value of professional management to the quality of life in our communities."

Gary D. Milliman, Life Member, was presented the prestigious Herman Kehrli Award during the League of Oregon Cities’ 94th Annual Conference in Bend, Oregon. The award is given to a city employee who has made exceptional contributions to city government in Oregon, producing lasting benefits for their community. Over a 45-year career in public service, Milliman has exemplified the highest standards in local government leadership.

Kristy Rogers, town manager, Milton, Delaware, has been named the state’s town manager of the year by the Delaware League of Local Governments.


September 24, 2019

C. Seth Sumner, city manager of Athens, Tennessee, has been selected as a member of the prestigious Leadership Tennessee program. He will spend the next year engaging in collaborative, nonpartisan dialogue on issues of statewide importance.


September 10, 2019

Janice M. Baker, city manager and chief administrative officer of Mississauga, Ontario, Canada, received the 2019 Vanier Medal for her contributions to public service in Canada. Janice is the first municipal official in 25 years to receive the medal.  


August 27, 2019

Catherine M. Conlow, an ICMA member for 30 years and the city manager of Bangor, Maine, was presented with the Manager of the Year Award by the Maine Town, City, and County Management Association.

Darren S. Gray, city manager of Clermont, Florida, has been selected to participate in the 2019-2020 class of Leadership Florida.