ICMA Recognizes Leaders in Performance Management

More than 50 local governments received recognition for their commitment to collecting, using, and sharing performance data.

Jul 27, 2016 | ARTICLE

Contact: Michele Frisby, Director, Public Information; mfrisby@icma.org, 202-962-3658

Washington, D.C.--The ICMA Center for Performance Analytics has awarded Certificates in Performance Management to 53 local governments that demonstrate a commitment to collecting, using, and sharing performance data. These certificates, presented annually, recognize performance management programs, encourage comparative analysis, and reward transparency.

“The certificate program recognizes communities that have demonstrated leadership in continuous improvement and community engagement using performance analysis,” said ICMA Executive Director Robert J. O’Neill, Jr. “Performance analysis is an integral component of professional local government management, and jurisdictions meeting the certificate qualifications serve as examples for other governments to follow.”

Certificates are based on established criteria and are awarded at three levels—Achievement, Distinction, and Excellence (the highest level). All recipients collect and verify performance data, train staff in performance measurement, and report data to the public. At higher levels they also use performance data in strategic planning and operational decision-making, share their knowledge through networking, report key outcomes in addition to inputs and outputs, survey residents, and foster the development of a performance culture throughout their organizations.     

Examples of programs and presentations that exemplify the certificate criteria appear on the Certificate Program page on the ICMA website. Following is a list of the 2016 recipients:

Certificates of Excellence

Alachua County, FL
Albany, OR
Austin, TX
Bayside, WI
Bellevue, WA
Clayton, MO
Coral Springs, FL
Dallas, TX
Durham, NC
Fairfax County, VA
Fayetteville, NC
Fort Collins, CO
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Gilbert, AZ
Kansas City, MO
Mesa, AZ
Miami-Dade County, FL

Montgomery County, MD
New Orleans, LA
Oklahoma City, OK
Olathe, KS
Peoria, AZ
Phoenix, AZ
Poudre Fire Authority, CO
Rock Hill, SC
San Antonio, TX
San Francisco, CA
San Jose, CA
San Mateo County, CA
Scottsdale, AZ
Tacoma, WA
Tamarac, FL
Williamsburg, VA
Woodbury, MN

Certificates of Distinction

Bettendorf, IA
Centennial, CO
Decatur, GA
Edmonton, AB
North Hempstead, NY

Palm Coast, FL
Purcellville, VA
Suwanee, GA
Wichita, KS

Certificates of Achievement

Algonquin, IL
Batavia, NY
Elk Grove, CA
Grafton, WI
Greer, SC

Johnson City, TN
Kingston Springs, TN
Loudoun County, VA
Miami, FL
Raleigh, NC

Recipients will be officially recognized at ICMA’s 102nd Annual Conference in Kansas City, Missouri, September 25-28, 2016.

About ICMA
ICMA, the International City/County Management Association, advances professional local government worldwide. The organization’s mission is to create excellence in local governance by developing and fostering professional management to build sustainable communities that improve people’s lives. ICMA provides member support, ethics education and enforcement, publications, data and information, peer and results-oriented assistance, and training and professional development to appointed city, town, and county leaders and other individuals and organizations throughout the world.



You may also be interested in