Awards and Honors

Congratulations to these ICMA members who have been honored for their contributions to the local government management profession.

Apr 6, 2021 | ARTICLE

April 6, 2021

The following ICMA members were recepients of Colorado City and County Management Association annual awards in March:

  • Jane Brautigam, former city manager, Boulder, received the Mark Achen Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • Pamela Davis, assistant city manager, Boulder, received the Trailblazer of the Year Award.
  • Travis Elliott, assistant town manager, Snowmass Village, received the Assistant of the Year Award.
  • Jennifer Ooton, assistant city manager, Glenwood Springs, received the Assistant of the Year Award.
  • Brandy Reitter, town manager, Eagle, received the Manager of the Year Award.
  • Sandra Seader, assistant city manager, Longmont, received the Assistant of the Year Award.
  • Jeffrey Shroll, county manager, Eagle County, received the Manager of the Year Award.


March 2, 2021

Stephen Erno, neighborhood services manager, Chandler, Arizona, was presented the Rachel Hut Bremen Associate’s Award for Excellence by the Arizona City/County Management Association.

Larry Rains, city manager, Casa Grande, Arizona, was presented the John J. DeBolske Professional Excellence Award by the Arizona City/County Management Association.


January 12, 2021

Gretchen DiFante, city manager, Pelham, Alabama, was presented the Shelby County 2020 Public Servant of the Year Award by the Shelby County Chamber.

Darren Gray, county administrator, Orange County, Florida, was presented the key of Clermont by mayor Tim Murry.


December 8, 2020

David Smoak, town administrator, Farragut, Tennessee, was presented the City Manager of the Year award by the Tennessee City Management Association in November.


November 24, 2020

C. Seth Sumner, city manager, Athens, Tennessee, was presented the 2020 Award for Municipal Excellence by the Tennessee City Management Association.


November 3, 2020

Peter Crichton, retired city manager, Auburn, Maine, was presented the Manager of the Year Award by the Maine Town, City, and County Management Association in October.


October 27, 2020

John Russo, retired city manager, Irvine, California, was presented the 2020 Past Presidents’ Lifetime Achievement Award by the League of California Cities at its annual conference and expo.


July 21, 2020

Michael Stavres, assistant city manager, Winter Haven, Florida, was presented the 2020 Assistant for Excellence in Leadership Award by the Florida City and County Management Association.


May 26, 2020

Ron Bowman, city manager, Boerne, Texas, was presented the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award by the Texas City Management Association.

Matthew Watkins, town administrator, Bloomfield, N.J., was one of 33 members appointed to the NJ Restart and Recovery Advisory Council, which brings together leaders from diverse industry groups and community organizations throughout New Jersey to advise state leadership on economic matters impacted by COVID-19.

Mark Wendling, city manager, Fairfield, Ohio, was presented the 2020 Distinguished Alumnus Award by the Northern Kentucky University’s Master of Public Administration Program at its Spring Awards Banquet.


April 7, 2020

Christine Myers, city administrator, Papillion, Nebraska, received the Mayor’s Outstanding Achievement Award at the city's Annual Employee Appreciation Banquet on February 28. The mayor credited Myers with having a hand in almost all major development in the city over nearly the past three decades, from negotiations to financial analysis.


March 31, 2020

Howard Chambers, city manager, Lakewood, California, was presented the Legends of Lakewood Award by the city of Lakewood on February 10 at its 65th anniversary commemoration for his record 41 years of service as Lakewood’s city manager.


March 3, 2020

W. Lane Bailey, city manager, Salisbury, North Carolina, and ICMA Regional Vice President, has received the John Whitehurst Service Award from the North Carolina City & County Management Association. The award honors North Carolina managers who follow Whitehurst’s example of consistency and diligence in his support of all local government professionals.

Scott Neal, city manager, Edina, Minnesota, received a Traeger Award from Engaging Local Government Leaders. The Traeger Award recognizes the top influencers in local government.


February 25, 2020

Jane Brautigam, ICMA President and city manager, Boulder, Colorado, has been named the 2020 Manager of the Year by the Colorado City and County Managers Association (CCCMA). Brautigam was recognized for her outstanding contribution to local government and exceptional leadership in Boulder, the state, and beyond.

Frank Lancaster, who retired as town administrator, of Estes Park, Colorado, in 2019, received the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award from CCCMA.


February 11, 2020

The city of Germantown, Tennessee (Patrick Lawton, ICMA-CM, city administrator), has been awarded the 2019 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The city is one of only four municipalities nationwide to have ever received the award. A presidential-level honor, the award recognizes exemplary U.S. organizations and businesses that demonstrate an unceasing drive for radical innovation, thoughtful leadership, and administrative improvement. The award was developed in the late 1980s by the Department of Commerce to facilitate competition among U.S. companies. The award is the highest level of recognition for performance excellence that a U.S. organization can receive.


October 29, 2019

Matthew T. Mardesen, city administrator, Nevada, Iowa, has been named Manager of the Year by the Iowa City/County Management Association. The award honors administrators whose accomplishments and superior work performance represent the “best possible application of management principles and whose creative contributions to professional local government management increases public awareness of the value of professional management to the quality of life in our communities."

Gary D. Milliman, Life Member, was presented the prestigious Herman Kehrli Award during the League of Oregon Cities’ 94th Annual Conference in Bend, Oregon. The award is given to a city employee who has made exceptional contributions to city government in Oregon, producing lasting benefits for their community. Over a 45-year career in public service, Milliman has exemplified the highest standards in local government leadership.

Kristy Rogers, town manager, Milton, Delaware, has been named the state’s town manager of the year by the Delaware League of Local Governments.


September 24, 2019

C. Seth Sumner, city manager of Athens, Tennessee, has been selected as a member of the prestigious Leadership Tennessee program. He will spend the next year engaging in collaborative, nonpartisan dialogue on issues of statewide importance.


September 10, 2019

Janice M. Baker, city manager and chief administrative officer of Mississauga, Ontario, Canada, received the 2019 Vanier Medal for her contributions to public service in Canada. Janice is the first municipal official in 25 years to receive the medal.  


August 27, 2019

Catherine M. Conlow, an ICMA member for 30 years and the city manager of Bangor, Maine, was presented with the Manager of the Year Award by the Maine Town, City, and County Management Association.

Darren S. Gray, city manager of Clermont, Florida, has been selected to participate in the 2019-2020 class of Leadership Florida.