ICMA recognizes communities for their commitment to the principles of performance management and effective communication of their performance data with residents and peer communities.

Depending on the level of recognition, Excellence being the highest, criteria include incorporation of data gathering and verification, public reporting, benchmarking and networking, strategic planning, community surveying, staff development, dashboarding, and continuous improvement.

For more information, visit icma.org/certificates-in-performance-management. For those interested in applying for the 2020 Certificates in Performance Management, the criteria and application form will be posted on November 1, 2019.


Certificate of Excellence

Alachua County, Florida

Albany, Oregon

Arvada, Colorado

Austin, Texas

Bayside, Wisconsin

Bernalillo County, New Mexico

Clayton, Missouri

Durham, North Carolina

Fairfax County, Virginia

Farmers Branch, Texas

Fayetteville, North Carolina

Fort Collins, Colorado

Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Gilbert, Arizona

Greer, South Carolina

Gunnison County, Colorado

Kansas City, Missouri

Montgomery County, Maryland

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Olathe, Kansas

Pinehurst, North Carolina

Rock Hill, South Carolina

San Antonio, Texas

San Francisco, California

Scottsdale, Arizona

Tamarac, Florida

Woodbury, Minnesota


Certificate of Distinction

Arapahoe County, Colorado

Baytown, Texas

Bellevue, Washington

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Coral Springs, Florida

Dallas, Texas

Edmonton, Alberta

Fort Worth, Texas

Loudoun County, Virginia

Mesa, Arizona

Palm Coast, Florida

Phoenix, Arizona

Poudre Fire Authority, Colorado

Sarasota County, Florida

Sheboygan, Wisconsin

Sugar Land, Texas

Suwanee, Georgia

Tacoma, Washington

Wichita, Kansas


Certificate of Achievement

Alexandria, Virginia

Algonquin, Illinois

Arlington, Texas

Bettendorf, Iowa

Chester County, Pennsylvania

DeLand, Florida

Downey, California

Elk Grove, California

Georgetown, Texas

Maitland, Florida

Maui County, Hawaii

North Hempstead, New York

Salisbury, North Carolina

Santa Monica, California

Southlake, Texas

Stanly County, North Carolina

Stayton, Oregon