## ICMA student chapter Kennesaw State University

## **2018 CHAPTER NEWS:**

The ICMA Student Chapter at Kennesaw State University in Kennesaw, GA was officially established on April 9, 2018. As a new student organization, our goal has been to promote awareness of careers in local government management and to connect our student body with city and county managers from across Georgia. Our chapter mentor, City Manager of Kennesaw, GA, Jeff Drobney, has been an invaluable support in getting our organization off the ground. On

February 26, 2018, Mr. Drobney spoke with a dozen MPA students about how to get our first city management job and succeed in it. He shared practical guidance about the experiences we should be seeking, ICMA publications to subscribe to, and upcoming ICMA conferences we should attend.



Across the state, city and county managers have enthusiastically embraced the KSU chapter. The Georgia City-County Management Association (GCCMA) graciously welcomed ICMA Student Chapter at KSU members to attend the GCCMA Spring Conference in Jekyll Island, GA, at a highly discounted student rate. At the conference, members met and were inspired by former ICMA President, Peggy Merriss. GCCMA President, Scott Johnson, also invited our President, Hayley McCloud, to shadow him in beautiful Columbia County, GA.



Our goal for Fall 2018 is to grow our membership to twenty active members. We are looking to expand beyond the MPA program and are recruiting students from the schools of business, architecture, and political science. We will have at least one event per month and will provide a variety of field trips and unique learning experiences. Our chapter is seeking sponsorship and partnership opportunities as we are ineligible for university funding until our one year anniversary in Spring 2019.

## **ICMA Student Chapter at KSU Officials**

Chapter Mentor: Jeff Drobney, City Manager of Kennesaw, GA Chapter Advisor: Ulf Zimmermann, Ph.D., Professor of Public Administration President: Hayley McCloud Vice President of Finance: Edward Guzman Director of External Affairs: Socorro Aguila Director of Communications: Lea Addington